On 3rd April, 2017 IEEE AIUB Student Branch organized a seminar on “Awareness of Nuclear Energy” hosted at the AIUB Auditorium. This seminar focused on the basics of nuclear energy, front end fuel management and a brief overview of Ruppur Nuclear Power Plant and it’s prospects.

At first, Prof. Dr. A.B.M. Siddique Hossain, Dean of Faculty of Engineering, AIUB, discussed about the importance of establishing a nuclear power plant in Bangladesh. He emphasized on the needs for producing more energy to meet the demands of our country. Following him, Prof. M. A. Quaiyum, Former Chairman, Bangladesh Atomic Energy Commission; Professor, Faculty of Engineering, AIUB, gave a brief history on the events that led to formation of the Ruppur Power Plant today. Then, Prof. Dr. Tafazzal Hossain, Vice President, Academics and Dean, Faculty of Science and Information Technology, AIUB, and Mr. Pius Costa, Registrar, AIUB encouraged students about the benefits of this seminar.

The speaker of the event, Prof. Dr. Afroza Shelley, Professor of School of Natural Science (Physics), AIUB, took the stage. She started with the present power situation of our country and how the Ruppur nuclear power plant will contribute to generating more power to meet the current demands. She talked about the technical details, the costs, construction and went over the safety features. The audience participated in an enthusiastic question and answer session, to which she concluded her presentation.

For the concluding speech, Prof. Dr. Md. Abdur Rahman, Advisor, IEEE AIUB Student Branch; Director, Faculty of Engineering, AIUB, discussed on how all technology has its profits and drawbacks and why we should adopt nuclear energy despite all the drawbacks. Afterwards, Dr. Tafazzal Hossain, Prof. Dr. A.B.M. Siddique Hossain, Prof. M. A. Quaiyum and Prof. Dr. Md. Abdur Rahman handed the token of appreciation to the speaker, Prof. Dr. Afroza Shelley. The successful event was crowded with around 150 students from both Engineering and Science schools. The event was graced by the presence of Mr. Md. Lutfar Rahman Director, PR, Legal & Int’l Affairs, AIUB, Dr. M Mohiuddin Uzzal, Assistant Professor & Head(Graduate), Faculty of Engineering, AIUB, Prof. Dr. S. Mosaddeq Ahmed, Head, Natural Science (Chemistry), AIUB, Mr. Sarfuddin Ahmed Tarek, Associate Professor, Natural Science (Physics), AIUB, Dr. Farzana Sabeth, Associate Professor, Natural Science (Physics), AIUB & Ms. Salma Begom, Senior Assistant Professor, Natural Science (Physics), AIUB and many others. 

Post Title Post Title Post Title Post Title Post Title